10:46 A.M. 21 staples !!! …

Spine-946x295
Four days in the hospital … Three room changes … Four rooms altogether !!! … Countless pills … Numerous bags of liquid IV … Catheters !!! … Many names to remember …

Quite the adventure !!! …

Got out Friday ( Halloween ) morning …

Not knowing how mobile I would be after the surgery I stayed at my folks’ place in Bolton as they had set up a bed for me to sleep on the main floor so I wouldn’t have to deal with stairs … I didn’t know how I would feel after the surgery … As it turns out … I dealt with a few stairs at the hospital , but felt it would be best not to stress the incision too much for the first little while … I stayed there for five days , leaving early Tuesday afternoon … Since I was fairly mobile and capable of stairs it was just a better idea for me to be home and that way my folks could relax again … I thanked them for their help and caring … At this stage of the game I should be looking after them !!! … Not the other way around ! … 

So I’m now home with my computer and things around me that I need to accomplish what I need to while I have this down time healing from this surgery … The following is the day to day events during my hospital stay …

 

Monday / October / 27

My brother Greg picked me up at my place and drove to the hospital … I was to be there to check in at 6:00 … We were there at 5:30 … No one was at the desk so we had time to kill … I had one last cigarette before I went in and once the process started I told my brother he may as well head out so he could get to work …

Somewhere between there and about 2:45 in the afternoon the surgery was over and I was sitting by the 4th level nurses station awaiting a room !!! … Ya gotta love anesthetics !!! …

Finally got a room … Semi private , but no one else in there … I just lay there feeling that the usual pain that was in my right leg from the walking around I had to do in the morning to get to and into the hospital was gone and I could barely feel the incision and 21 staples in my back … It was nice to relax …

 

Tuesday / October / 28

I must say … I was pleasantly surprised at the result the morning after my spinal surgery … Around 11:00 Tuesday morning I was waltzing around the halls of  my floor with my four bag IV of goodies pumping into me , not particularly needing to utilize the walker they had given me … The physiotherapist insisted that I did however … Both her and the nurse that accompanied us were quite impressed with my efforts … I ended up walking a bit more than a patient usually does the first day after the surgery … I may have overdone it tho … As I discovered during the first room change shortly after the walk !!! …

They were there along with a few PCAs ( patient care attendants ) gathering up my things and getting ready to transfer me to my new room … They had sat me down in a chair sitting on a pillow and another pillow wedged behind my back … I began to feel a tad strange as I felt my head begin to sweat as it was quite uncomfortable in that sitting position , despite the fact that I felt quite good indeed during the walk … I was amazed that I felt absolutely none of the right leg pain that had been caused by the pinching of the nerves for all the years that led me to the operation … I stated that I felt a ‘ bit odd ‘ … But they were all nattering among themselves and no one seemed to hear me … A moment later I repeated that I thought something was up … Only this time their voices were ‘ somewhat distant ‘ …

Next thing I know … I’m lying on my side ,  on the bed , facing the window … With all of them scrambling ! … One of them asking me if I knew where I was !!! … I said ‘ Yeah … The hospital ! … Did I pop out for a bit ?! ‘ … I quickly realized I had passed out … That’s happened to me before when under anesthesia  … I figure it’s my body trying to rid itself of the last lingering amount … Bent the needle to my IV … Scared the Hell outta the nurse and a couple of the PCAs … Good thing a doctor happened to be waltzing by … He put pressure on my forehead and said that helps bring a person back to reality … Good thing I’m so underweight ( 125 lbs !!! ) … It couldn’t have been much of a chore for three of them to get me on the bed !!! … 

After all the commotion settled down off we went to my own private room ! … On the erasable marker board in the new room , the nurse rewrote a few of my phone numbers for me and in the corner where she had the goal for the day she wrote ‘ No more passing out please ‘ ! … The afternoon went well from there … I got my sweatpants on with no problem … I was fed up of havin’ my ass hangin’ out ! … I figured everyone at that point had enough of a free show  , so it was time to get at least partially dressed … Again the nurse was quite impressed that I could do that with no assistance … I sat on the bed and demonstrated how I accomplished it without bending my back … I told her that in my younger days I was into gymnastics and was pretty limber still … Even for an old fart fallin’ apart !!! …

 

Leave a Reply

