7:59 P.M. Abstinence ; A powerful posterior pain plus perennial purturbence ! …

MorbnewsSept02
Not really … Just kidding ! .. Gotta stop from going mad somehow !!! …

Actually one well known dictionary puts it this way ;
‘ The practice of not doing or having something that is wanted or enjoyable : the practice of abstaining from something ‘ …

Due to the aging of the old Morb here , I am dealing with a number of health issues at the moment and it’s a seemingly daunting task indeed ! … On top of that , the resulting employment issues ( more specifically , sporadic snippets thereof !… ) caused by this onslaught of ailments only exacerbates the situation … To put in more succinctly … I’M IN ROUGH SHAPE !!! … I’ve had times in my life where the job situation has been grim and money scarce … But all it took was keeping an eye out for an opportunity and it pops up and you can work your way out of it … But that’s when you can ‘ physically work ‘ your way out of it …

Which brings me to my mention of the ‘ health issues ‘ …

I’m a stainless steel polisher by trade and have acquired numerous other skills along the way having worked in many small and medium sized shops. Skilled labour but also very physically demanding. Not to mention , the polishing in particular , detrimental to one’s health ! … Having been at this for close to forty years , in the beginning there wasn’t much fuss about ‘ health and safety ‘ when I started … You just went to work , put the effort in to being able to walk out at quitting time , stitches here and there … As long as nothing major … You’re good for a few beers after work and tomorrow’s another day … However , over time and much accumulation , those cuts and contusions add up … Fabrication shops aren’t the most sterile environments … In my younger days I’d just put a bandaid ( or three ! ) on a cut that experience now tells me required stitches … But I’d heal up within a few days and it was gone … As the decades have passed by relatively quickly , those cuts and injuries tend to linger longer …

With time the stress on the joints and bones piles on as well … The heavy power tools to be wielded on large pieces of fabricated equipment , the lifting , the crawling inside of cylindrical vessels … All add to the wear and tear … I’d hoped to have gotten to the point where after twenty years I could trade the coveralls for a suit and tie and utilize my knowledge and experience to teach the next generation … Trouble is , when you get to that level , employers don’t want to lose that specialty and productivity on the shop floor … So some idiot with a two semester college degree in business management gets hired instead !!! … You , at times , justly receive an increase in compensation ( More often than not DON”T ) and more years of wear and tear accumulate … I’ve always heard you ‘ lift with your knees not your back ‘ … And found it made sense … Not being a large chap , yet lifting weights that the big lads found strenuous , my knees were the first to go ! … One in particular was drained three times before the doctor finally said I needed surgery … Around this point I was using my back more to save my knees … The result of that would begin to haunt me about seven or eight years ago … Steadily , it’s deterioration year by year has accelerated …

Combine the aforementioned skin and bone stress with the steel dust , abrasive residuals and welding gases and smoke that permeate the air around you … The body has to work hard to fend it all off … There were very little breathing apparatus or air systems around back then , the few that were being developed were certainly too expensive for the small shops that I began to learn my trade in … It would have simply put them out of business to take on that expense … As time went on , governmental laws and regulations would eventually force them , and all industry , to prioritize those health and safety issues … However , by the time that rolled around I was so ensconced in my methods and routine I never paid much attention to it ! … Combine that with the earlier fact that , despite my total lack of interest in a particular habit my old schoolmates were indulging in , I was relentlessly harassed by an individual ( who shall remain nameless … RICHARD ! ) to take up tobacco … Most of my peers had parents that smoked so they picked up on it younger … Some 12 or 13 !!… Mine did not ( To the contrary , they did the wise thing and constantly spoke of it’s pointlessness and harm ) … I ALMOST made it out of high school , but just to shut him up the last year of a summer course I joined in … Slowly , but surely , the consumption built … As I began my career in fabrication … Not exactly a healthy combination …

It’s getting late … I have to try and put some hours in at work … As many as the back will allow !!! … I’ll carry on with this post a little later tomorrow …
MORB

via Abstinence – Definition and More from the Free Merriam-Webster Dictionary.

Leave a Reply

