7:38 p.m. Dark Matter Liver Guy !!! …

The beginning of the new year has found my place ( of relatively new ) employ in a waiting game for engineers to ok drawings and financial people to decide if they want to spend money on the things that they have requested … Not a problem ! … Having just moved to the location where I hooked up with them a few months back , there’s plenty of things to do to get the new , larger shop into a more efficient working order …

That’s something I really respect about my two bosses … They understand that you have to have things set up properly … Have all the proper tools … The shop designed to work ‘ for ‘ you , not ‘ against ‘ you … Consequently , it’s been a very laid back , no hurry type of approach to the day … But ! As will happen … We’ll start production on those upcoming orders and we’ll be VERY busy indeed !!! … I’m there !!! I appreciate a break every now and then … Especially with this mutinous old body of mine !!! … When the time comes to hustle and put in 110 % … I’ll be there for these guys !!! …

I can honestly say I enjoy going to work in the morning once again !!! … It’ been a long time since I last stated that !!! …

Today was Friday to begin with … So it was going to be somewhat ‘ casual ‘ in light of the circumstances anyway … I arrived at work at my usual 7:30ish ( we start at 8:00 a.m ) … When I rolled in , Rod and John ( my employers ) were talking about Rod’s reno activity of the house he had just bought … News of the day , hockey and so forth were bantered about … The normal start to the working day ! … Just as 8:00 came around … Someone they know ( and I had the fortune to meet ) rolls in .. A gentleman a tad older than me .. Worked for Chrysler as a member of the UAW Executive !!! … We all chatted for 45 minutes and I was enlightened on the subject of the auto industry … Haven’t changed my point of view on unions ( especially the UAW !! ) but he gave me some information… First hand ! information that I was unaware of … I’m always into enlightenment ! … As 9:00 approached , we all shook hands … Wished the best for one another in the new year .. And he toddled out the door …

OK … I’m thinkin’ maybe we should start WORKIN’ then !!! … And we did … John and I continued with the installation of the new air lines for the lathe , milling machines , etc as well as the accompanying plumbing that goes along with it … Due to the late start … Lunch rolled ’round fairly quickly !!! … Again I found myself sitting in the office … Pizza and chicken wings that Rod had ordered in … And the three of us havin’ a good lunch … I usually cook up a storm on weekends and have leftovers that do quite nicely for work … But on this particular Friday , I had none left !!! So I joined Rod and John with their usual ritual of ordering food from various places … Certainly did the job !!! … So now , a little after 12:30 … Full gut … Back to the task at hand …

Or so I thought !!! …

Around 1:15 … While John and I were workin’ on the air lines to the machines … I was operating the forklift and I had John up on the forks feeding hoses through the ceiling braces of the shop , as we were positioning them better for where they were required … At this point … Just when I had to move John into a different position … RAN OUTTA PROPANE !!! … SHIT !!! Gotta change the pissed out tank while poor John’s stuck up in the ceiling !!! … Pretty much the same time … Rod comes into the shop from the office …

… With DARK MATTER LIVER GUY !!! …

I had heard John speak of this chap a month ago … He’s the type of guy ( We all know someone like this !! ) who can just keep drinkin’ and partying and seemingly NEVER go down !!! … I said to John at that time that I gotta meet this guy !!! … Well .. Today I did !!! What a riot !!! … We basically stopped workin’ at 1:30 !!! Sat for two hours talkin’ and laughin’ our asses off !! … No booze , despite DMLG’s many frequent attempts to get something goin’ !! … But the conversation , one liners and short stories were priceless !!! …. We all have a good sense of humour ! …

It’s just as well we didn’t have any booze there … For if we did , we’d still be in that office right now … And headin’ for a whole shitload of trouble !!!! …

Leave a Reply

